‘Ikale Tahi Day 23RWC in Wellington

Posted Posted by admin in Media Releases     Comments No comments

The team said its farewell in Paihia to Scenic Hotel management & staff then journeyed to Kerikeri airport to board the regional flight to Auckland. Sadly the team said its farewell to Lindsey our most capable & dedicated bus driver who has been with us since our arrival in Auckland and throughout travels in Northland.

The flight to Auckland was on a fine sunny day with minimal air turbulence on a 50 seat aeroplane. Team landed in Auckland airport and were then transported by bus through a security checkand onto the Koru Lounge to relax and where luncheon was provided.

The flight from Auckland to Wellington took just an hour and the team was greeted upon arrival by the Secretary for Tonga High Commission Mr Sateki Ahio, also a Kapa Haka group was there welcome the team on the ground. The team was escorted by security through the terminal to be greeted by gigantic supporters of the Tongan community in Wellington. The Kingdom of Tonga is #1 team in been the most supported team in Rugby World Cup 2011.

After the tremendous welcome at Wellington airport where a youth brass band and dancers entertained the team, the team was then transported to James Cook Hotel at the Terrace (well inside the CBD hub of Wellington) where the team will is accommodated.

In the evening the team was invited to dinner by the Wellington Tongan Community at Wesley Hall where 1,000 supporters were there to welcome the team for dinner and entertainment by the Tongan Youth Brass Band and dancers.

The evening was thoroughly enjoyed by players and management.

The team is indebted to the thousands of Tongan supporters in Auckland, Northland, and Wellington, throughout New Zealand as well as the global support in USA, France, Japan, Australia, Samoa, Fiji and Tonga.

Post comment

Keep Rugby Clean

Tonga Rugby Union supports the Keep Rugby Clean campaign

Official RWC 2011 Team

29. 'Aleki 'Aho LUTUI 26. 'Unaloto ki Pulotu Vea TEUTAU a.k.a Taniela MOA 18. Andrew Kautonga MA'ILEI 24. Sione Lamipeti Ngalu TIMANI 20. Sukanaivalu Ikavuka HUFANGA 22. Vungakoto Filimone LILO 28. Latu Alipate H. Naqasima FATAFEHI 8. Sione Ma'ake KALAMAFONI 9. Samiu Kaufusi VAHAFOLAU 7. Joseph Mark Laifone TU'INEAU 10. Finau MAKA 14. Samisoni FISILAU 16. Kurt Stanley MORATH 3. Kisi PULU 15. Thomas Ta'ufo'ou PALU 11. Viliami Suaesi MA'AFU 6. Kelekolio Paino HEHEA 27. Fetu'umoana VAINIKOLO 17. Viliame Volavola 'IONGI 4.  Halani 'AULIKA 30. Taufa'ao FILISE