ikaleHead Coach Mana ‘Otai has named his team to face the Japan Cherry Blossoms on Monday 3 August at 11am PDT at Swanguard Stadium, Burnaby BC.

‘Ikale Tahi have progressed well through the series, with the team showing consistent growth throughout their first three games.

‘Otai has made a number of changes to the team to face Japan, bringing Nili Latu back into the Captaincy after resting him last week, and giving Steve Mafi a well earned break.

Hale T-Pole starts back in at No. 8, with Otulea Katoa taking over the number 14 jersey from Telusa Veainu, who is also being rested this week.

Wayne Ngaluafe comes into the bench in place of the injured Taniela Moa, and joins fellow Aucklander Kalafi Pongi , who also gets a start this week.

The team is as follows:

1. LOOSE HEAD – Tevita Mailau

2. HOOKER – Elvis Taione

3. TIGHTHEAD – Halani Aulika

4. LOCK – Tukulua Lokotui

5. LOCK – Uili Kolo’ofa’i

6. BLINDSIDE – Jack Ram

7. OPENSIDE – Nili Latu

8. NO. 8. Hale T-Pole

9. SCRUMHALF – Sonatane Takulua

10. OUTSIDE HALF – Kurt Morath

11. WING – Fetu’u Vainikolo

12. CENTRE – Viliami Tahitu’a

13. CENTRE – Sione Piukala

14. WING – Otulea Katoa

15. FULLBACK – Vungakoto Lilo


16. FRONT ROW – Kalafi Pongi

17. FRONT ROW – Soane Tonga’uiha

18. FRONT ROW – Sila Puafisi

19.                         – Sosefo Sakalia

20.                         – Viliami Fihaki

21.                         – Wayne Ngaluafe

22.                         – Martin Naufahu

23.                         – Latiume Fosita

Expect to see a hard fought and physical game between both side, as ‘Ikale Tahi aims to finish the series on a high.

All of the game action will be broadcast on ESPN3, TSN and on the World Rugby website.

Comments & Responses